Skip to Main Content

Resources for Global Collection

This is a library guide for resources in global languages at Rolfing Library.

Resources

  • DICTA (Tool for Advanced Study of Hebrew Texts) is a non-profit organization that provides analytical tools to Hebrew texts so that the classical and modern Hebrew researchers can focus on the deeper questions.
  • The International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts provides manuscripts and documents in digitized format. 
  • RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
  • Sefaria is home to 3,000 years of Jewish texts, including Tanakh and Talmud . Managed by a non-profit organization offering free access to texts, translations, and commentaries so that everyone can participate in the ongoing process of studying, interpreting, and creating Torah, the translations are available in languages such as Deutsch, English, Esperanto, Español, فارسی, suomen kieli, Français, Italiano, Polskie, Português, Pусский, and יידיש.
  • The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. As it grows, it will offer an in-depth resource to complement traditional dictionaries, and also provide pointers to further research. This international, cooperative project involves a growing number of research centres with coordination provided by Amsterdam.