Open Access Digital Theological Library: The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion. Search languages: German, Spanish, French, Korean, and Chinese
Library of Congress World Digital Library contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections. The original World Digital Library site (preserved in LC’s Web Archives here) and all descriptive metadata were translated from English and made available in six additional languages: Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage: Electronic Edition is an electronic version of the 2011 edition of the Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage, published by Gorgias Press on behalf of the Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute. e-GEDSH is the result of the collaborative efforts of many scholars. The encyclopedia currently holds 622 entries written by 76 contributors. This digital edition is implemented on the Srophé App platform using TEI XML, eXist-db, and linked open data technologies.
Nadenke oor 500 jaar se Reformatoriese teologie. by
In 2017 we celebrate for the 500th time the Reformation of the church. The authors want to ensure that there is also a contribution in Afrikaans in this important year. The central themes of Reformation theology are discussed. Reformation theology did not end with the contributions of Luther and Calvin, and one of the authors therefore, reflects with one of the greatest theologians alive, Jürgen Moltmann, on theology and life. In the recent past, scholars such as Ebeling and Van Selms, made valuable contributions that could be used in present-day discussions on church matters and political challenges. This book is proof that these older contributions are still important for in-depth reflections on complex theological questions. This book is also an exhibition of present-day theological research at the University of Pretoria. A diversity of opinions are tolerated, with the knowledge that there is a common love for our Reformation heritage. The book follows the internationally accepted research methodology in the field of historic theology. The classical texts of the reformers, such as Luther and Calvin, are researched in the original and made accessible to the Afrikaans readership. The book is witness to the fact that we have valuable contributions to Reformation theology coming from the recent past. The contributions are also analysed within their original historic setting and hermeneutically actualised for present-day church matters. This book is an important contribution to the Afrikaans reception of Reformation theology. For the first time, important enunciations of the reformers (especially Luther) are provided in Afrikaans with the original texts in footnotes. For the first time Adrianus Van Selms' catechetical handbook, that was recently discovered in an archive, is brought into the academic discussion. As South Africans, we struggle with issues such as gender, marriage, the political role of the church and interreligious relationships. It is clear, from this research, that the older European debates are helpful in bringing depth to our contextual debates. The target audience of the book is primarily the academic fraternity in historic theology, systematic theology and science of religion. It is, however, also accessible for ministers of religion and the general public, hence almost all the Latin, German and French quotations are translated into Afrikaans. The main aim was to make an Afrikaans contribution to Reformation 500. I declare that no part of any chapter is taken from another published work without the necessary recognition. This is original research and not one of the chapters has been published somewhere else.
Postkolonialismus, Theologie und die Konstruktion des Anderen by
Postcolonialism refers not only to the historical epoch after the end of the colonial era, but also to a theoretical concept for the analysis of power relations. In German-speaking theology, this concept has so far received little attention. In the bilingual volume Postcolonialism, theology and the construction of the other , scholars of all theological disciplines, including religious studies, explore the heuristic possibilities that postcolonialism provides for their subject. In particular, the question is how "the other" is constructed as the counterpart of a "we". In times of global migration and growing right-wing extremism, theology must remain capable to offer answers to the urgent questions of the present.
Teología feminista a tres voces by
La teología feminista cristiana surge de la percepción del feminismo contemporáneo como un desafío fundamental para el cristianismo, referido sobre todo a la dignidad de las mujeres y la plena humanidad de todos los seres humanos. Se trata, en cierto sentido, de la búsqueda de cómo hablar de Dios rectamente para impulsar relaciones de igualdad y reciprocidad entre varones y mujeres, porque el lenguaje –también el teológico– moldea la realidad que habitamos.
Une Doxographie Sunnite du IVe/Xe Siècle by
This book contains an edition and annotated translation of the remaining fragments of a maqālāt treatise written by Abū al-ʿAbbās al-Qalānisī at the end of the 3rd/9th or beginning of the 4th/10th c. Unlike al-Balḫī and al-Ašʿarī, the two main authors of maqālāt from the same period, al-Qalānisī is a theologian who was never part of Muʿtazili circles but rather belongs to Ibn Kullāb's school that aims to defend Sunni doctrines by the use of the dialectical method. These are the only remaining fragments of the great albeit little-known theologian who probably never left the city of Rayy. They reflect his intellectual agenda of integrating the traditionnist milieux in the main theological debates of the 3rd/9th c. The history he writes of early kalām differs from that of the Muʿtazilis and the Hanbalis, who both agree that theologians and traditionnists are two mutually exclusive professions. Through the category of « traditionnists theologians » which appears for the first time in these fragments, al-Qalānisī takes part with al-Ašʿarī in the great synthesis of the 4th/10th c. However, despite all their similarities, their two historiographical projects differ greatly one from another. The study preceding the edition sheds a new light on the strategy of al-Qalānisī in order to explain the reasons behind the success of al-Ašʿarī whose school relegated this early and flourishing period of Sunni kalām in the margins of orthodoxy.
루터의 탁상담화 : 종교개혁자의 사적인 대화록 by
루터의 자유롭고도 열정적인 정신과 인격을 보여주는 책마르틴 루터의 『탁상담화』는 1566년 처음으로 출판되었으나, 가톨릭교회의 분노를 사서 교황 그레고리우스 13세의 명령으로 모두 소각되었다. 이후 이 책은 모두 사라진 것으로 생각되었지만 1626년 기적적으로 발견되어 영국으로 보내졌고, 우여곡절 끝에 1646년 영어 번역본이 출판되었다. 이 역서는 그 책을 국내 처음으로 완역한 것이다.위대한 종교개혁자의 재능과 성향과 태도를 『탁상담화』만큼 여실히 보여주는 책은 없다. 『탁상담화』는 루터의 말을 그의 친구들과 제자들, 특히 개혁자의 말년까지 오랜 시간을 동고동락한 안토니 라우터바흐와 요한 아우리파버가 취합한 책이다. 기록자들은 루터가 친구를 편하게 만나거나, 산책을 하거나, 목회의 일을 수행하거나, 식사를 하면서 대화하거나 강론한 내용을 남김없이 그들의 노트에 기록했다. 『탁상담화』는 4백년을 지나오는 동안 독일 개신교도들에게 성경에 버금가는 지위를 누렸다. 수수한 문체에 담긴 다양한 내용들은 종교개혁 1세대들이 중요하게 여겼던 진리들을 후대의 모든 사람들에게 전하여 깨닫게 하는데 아주 요긴한 역할을 했다. 독자들은 이 책을 읽으면서 그의 시대뿐 아니라 우리 시대에도 꼭 필요한, 바르고 깊고 풍성한 진리를 많이 발견할 것이다.
