Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clearing Your Browser Cache: Microsoft Edge

Instruction and resource for clearing your web browser's cache, cookies, and history.

Clearing Cache in Microsoft Edge

To clear your cache in Microsoft Edge (2020 release and later):

  1. Navigate to the three dots in the upper right of the screen.
  2. Choose History.
  3. In the top of the History pane, click the three dots.
  4. Choose Clear Browsing Data.
  5. If you are having trouble with library databases we recommend the Time range of All Time.
  6. Check the options for Browsing history, Cookies and site data, and Cached images and files. 
  7. Click Clear now.
  8. Close and reopen Edge.

Set Edge to automatically clear some cache items when it closes


This setting can help prevent caching errors by tidying up each time you exit Edge.

  1. Click the Menu (three dots) in the upper right.
  2. Choose Settings
  3. Scroll down to find Advanced and expand that selection.
  4. Under Privacy,search, and services.
  5. Scroll down to Clear Browsing Data.
  6. Select Choose what to clear every time you close the browser.
  7. You may choose to delete all or select only Browsing history, Cookies and other site data, and Cached images and files.

Deleting Cookies in Microsoft Edge

In Microsoft Edge , you can delete all cookies or cookies from a specific website. You can also set Edge to automatically delete cookies every time you close your Edge browser. 

Delete all cookies

  1. In Edge, select Settings and more  in the upper right corner of your browser window. 

    An image showing the Settings and more menu in Microsoft Edge.

  2. Select Settings  > Privacy, search, and services.

  3. Select Choose what to clear under Clear browsing data > Clear browsing data now

  4. Under Time range, choose a time range from the list.

  5. Select Cookies and other site data, and then select Clear now.

All your cookies and other site data will now be deleted for the time range you selected. This signs you out of most sites. 

Delete cookies from a specific site

  1. In Edge, select Settings and more  > Settings  > Cookies and site permissions.

  2. Under Cookies and data stored, select Manage and delete cookies and site data See all cookies and site data and search for the site whose cookies you want to delete.

  3. Select the down arrow  to the right of the site whose cookies you want to delete and select Delete .

Cookies for the site you selected will now be deleted. Repeat this step for any site whose cookies you want to delete. 

Delete cookies every time you close the browser

  1. In Edge, select Settings and more  > Settings  > Privacy, search, and services.

  2. Under Clear browsing data, select Choose what to clear every time you close the browser.

  3. Turn on the Cookies and other site data toggle.

Once this feature is turned on, every time you close your Edge browser all cookies and other site data will be deleted. This signs you out of most sites. 

Opening a private browsing window in Edge

The Microsoft Edge ​will delete your browsing history, cookies, and site data, as well as passwords, addresses, and form data when you close all InPrivate windows. 

You can open an InPrivate window in different ways: 

  • Select and hold (right-click) the Microsoft Edge logo in the taskbar and select New InPrivate window.

  • In Microsoft Edge, select and hold (right-click) a link and select Open link in InPrivate window.

  • In Microsoft Edge, select Settings and more  > New InPrivate window.

Privacy and Security Enhancement

  • For enhanced privacy and security settings: Settings > Privacy, search, and services > Balanced
  • To delete browser cookies: Settings > Privacy, search, and services > Clear browsing data > select Cookies and other site data > Clear now
  • To stop your browser from asking to save your passwords: Settings > Passwords > Turn off Offer To Save Passwords