Skip to Main Content

Policies

This page provides an overview of library policies.

TIU Community

Students, staff, and faculty can use their TIU ID card to borrow materials from the library.

Alumni

Local alumni may borrow physical items from the library and can access eBooks on the OverDrive platform. Click here for more information.

Visitors

Visitor access is complementary to anyone, including alumni, pastors, and community members. Visitor patrons are welcome to check out material from Rolfing Library but are not allowed to request items through IShare or WorldShare. Visitors are also permitted to borrow eBooks on the OverDrive platform. To establish a visitor account, please visit the Library Services desk. 

Loan Periods

 

  Masters Students Faculty, Staff, &
Doctoral Students		 I-Share Visitors & Alumni
Books 1 Months (3 renewals) 3 Months (2 Renewals) 1 Month (3 Renewals)  1 Month (3 Renewals) 
New Books 21 Days (no renewals) 21 Days (no renewals) --- 21 Days (no renewals)
Reference Books In-library use only  In-library use only  --- In-library use only
Center for Faith and Children Books 21 days (no renewals) 21 days (no renewals) 21 days (no renewals) 21 days (no renewals)
Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity Collection In-library use only  In-library use only  --- In-library use only 
Display Books 21 Days (3 renewals) 21 Days (3 renewals)  21 Days (3 renewals)  21 Days (3 renewals) 
Faculty Authors Books 21 Days (3 renewals) 21 Days (3 renewals) --- 21 Days (3 renewals)
Media 14 Days (1 renewal) 14 Days (1 renewal) 14 Days (1 renewal) 14 Days (1 renewal) 
New Media 7 Days (no renewal)  7 Days (no renewal) --- 7 Days (no renewal) 
Journals In-library use only In-library use only --- In-library use only
Reserve Items 4 hour in-library use only 4 hour in-library use only  --- 4 hour in-library use only 
Item Limit 100 items 100 items No limit 50 items

 

WorldShare due dates and renewals are handled through your WorldShare account. For any questions regarding WorldShare items, please email ill@tiu.edu.

Fines and Fees

Once an item is 45 days overdue, it is considered lost. You will be billed a $100 replacement fee and your library account will be blocked. If an item is truly lost, please contact library@tiu.edu to see about replacement options. To pay fees online, please fill out this form. 

For lost I-Share books, please contact the lending library directly. Contact information for each I-Share school can be found here.

Non-Circulating Materials

Due to the value, high demand or special usage of some works, Rolfing Library has restricted particular materials to in-library use only. Materials from the noncirculating collections may not be checked out and must be used in the library subject to the following guidelines.

Reference and Journal Holdings

Please use the books and journals in the library or photocopy articles for research use. When you have finished using items from these collections, please place them on a reshelving cart or shelf. We keep usage statistics on all items and therefore ask that patrons do not shelve on your own. If an item appears to be missing from the shelves, please ask for it at the Library Services Desk, and we will check the reshelve area for you.

Reserve items

Heavily used items are placed on reserve in order to give more students access to the material. Reserve items are kept behind the Circulation Counter. More information.

Archives and Rare Books

The Rare Book Collection, the Archives of the Evangelical Free Church and the Archives of TIU are located in the Archives room. Materials in these collections are usually available Monday-Friday between the hours of 9:00am and 4:00pm by special appointment only. For more information, please see our Archives and Special Collections guide, or contact Nathan Thebarge for further assistance at nmthebarge@tiu.edu or 847-317-4008.

Microforms

Microfilm and microfiche are located in the Clerestory area of the library. Reader/printer/scanners are available. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Counter.