The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive, it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present. This collection will expand over time as more of the Princeton Theological Seminary Library’s holdings are digitized and as we incorporate relevant materials digitized by partnering organizations.
Books@Atla was conceived in 2014 as a means of publishing open access books that were relevant to the study and practice of theological librarianship. Currently the mission of the program is publication of open access works on subjects at the intersection of librarianship and religious and theological studies that potentially impact libraries. We seek to provide resources that guide and support innovative library services and enhance professional development.
This course examines the Old Testament (Hebrew Bible) as an expression of the religious life and thought of ancient Israel, and a foundational document of Western civilization. A wide range of methodologies, including source criticism and the historical-critical school, tradition criticism, redaction criticism, and literary and canonical approaches are applied to the study and interpretation of the Bible. Special emphasis is placed on the Bible against the backdrop of its historical and cultural setting in the Ancient Near East.
This course provides a historical study of the origins of Christianity by analyzing the literature of the earliest Christian movements in historical context, concentrating on the New Testament. Although theological themes will occupy much of our attention, the course does not attempt a theological appropriation of the New Testament as scripture. Rather, the importance of the New Testament and other early Christian documents as ancient literature and as sources for historical study will be emphasized. A central organizing theme of the course will focus on the differences within early Christianity (-ies)
Intermediate Biblical Greek Reader: Galatians and Related Texts (OER Textbook by Professors Jonah M. Sandford, Nijay K. Gupta) This intermediate graded reader is designed to meet those needs. The reader is “intermediate” in the sense that it presumes the user will have already learned the basics of Greek grammar and syntax and has memorized Greek vocabulary words that appear frequently in the New Testament. The reader is “graded” in the sense that it moves from simpler translation work (Galatians) towards more advanced readings from the book of James, the Septuagint, and from one of the Church Fathers. In each reading lesson, the Greek text is given, followed by supplemental notes that offer help with vocabulary, challenging word forms, and syntax. Discussion questions are also included to foster group conversation and engagement.
This page is designed to help make New Testament commentaries, dictionaries and related resources available to those without easy access to a theological library. The content from the Reading Room Archives is for archival purposes only — some links may not work. This content was originally posted on the Tyndale University Website and curated by Tyndale Faculty members. This content is no longer being maintained.
This page is designed to help make selected Old Testament writings available to those without easy access to a theological library. The content from the Reading Room Archives is for archival purposes only — some links may not work. This content was originally posted on the Tyndale University Website and curated by Tyndale Faculty members.
Church History Timeline This guide was created by faculty, staff, and students at Ashland Theological Seminary with funding from the Atla OER Grant Program. This OER can be used to replace a timeline textbook in courses on church history. Content licensed CC-BY-NC.
