According to Plan by
The massive diversity and complexity of the Bible can make it a daunting project for anyone to tackle. Getting a grasp on the unity of the Bible, its central message from Genesis to Revelation, helps immensely in understanding the meaning of any one book or passage. That is the goal of this book. How do the Old and New Testaments fit together? What is the point of biblical theology? What is the overall story of the Bible? What difference does it make? This introductory text answers these questions with an integrated theology of both Old and New Testaments that avoids unnecessary technicalities. Dozens of charts, highlighted summaries, study questions at the end of each chapter and concise, pithy chapters make this an enormously useful book for understanding how the Bible fits together as the unfolding story of God's plan for salvation. --Back Cover.
The Chosen People by
One of the central touchstones of Second Temple Judaism is election. The Jews considered themselves a people set apart for God's special purpose. So it is not surprising that this concept plays such an important role in Pauline theology. In this careful and provocative study, Chad Thornhill considers how Second Temple understandings of election influenced key Pauline texts. Thornhill seeks to establish the thought patterns of the ancient texts regarding election, with sensitivity to social, historical and literary factors. He carefully considers questions of "extent" (ethnic/national or remnant), the relationship to the individual (corporate or individual in focus), and the relationship to salvation (divine/human agency and the presence of "conditions"). Thornhill looks at the markers or conditions that defined various groups, and considers whether election was viewed by ancient authors as merited, given graciously or both. Thorough and measured, the author contends that individual election is not usually associated with a "soteriological" status but rather with the quality of the individual (or sometimes group) in view -- the collective entity is in view in the Jewish notion of election. While Paul is certainly able to move beyond these categories, Thornhill shows how he too follows these patterns. - Publisher.
One of the central touchstones of Second Temple Judaism is election. The Jews considered themselves a people set apart for God's special purpose. So it is not surprising that this concept plays such an important role in Pauline theology. In this careful and provocative study, Chad Thornhill considers how Second Temple understandings of election influenced key Pauline texts. Thornhill seeks to establish the thought patterns of the ancient texts regarding election, with sensitivity to social, historical and literary factors. He carefully considers questions of "extent" (ethnic/national or remnant), the relationship to the individual (corporate or individual in focus), and the relationship to salvation (divine/human agency and the presence of "conditions"). Thornhill looks at the markers or conditions that defined various groups, and considers whether election was viewed by ancient authors as merited, given graciously or both. Thorough and measured, the author contends that individual election is not usually associated with a "soteriological" status but rather with the quality of the individual (or sometimes group) in view -- the collective entity is in view in the Jewish notion of election. While Paul is certainly able to move beyond these categories, Thornhill shows how he too follows these patterns.
Desiring the Kingdom by
Desiring the Kingdom focuses education around the themes of liturgy, formation, and desire. The author contends - as did Augustine - that human beings are "desiring agents"; in other words, we are what we love. Postmodern culture, far from being "secular," is saturated with liturgy, but in places such as malls, stadiums, and universities. While these structures influence us, they do not point us to the best of ends. Smith aims to move beyond a focus on "worldview" to see Christian education as a counter - formation to these secular liturgies. His ultimate purpose is to re - vision Christian education as a formative process that redirects our desire toward God's kingdom and its vision of flourishing. -- from publisher description.
Dictionary of the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by
"This companion volume to the Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament covers a range of interpretive topics and includes summary articles on each biblical book and numerous themes"-- Provided by publisher.
The Drama of Scripture by
This bestselling textbook surveys the grand narrative of the Bible, demonstrating how the biblical story forms the foundation of a Christian worldview. The second edition has been thoroughly revised. Additional material is available online through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources, offering course help for professors and study aids for students. Resources include discussion questions, a Bible reading schedule, an adult Bible class schedule, and a course syllabus.
The Fabric of Theology by 
From Eden to the New Jerusalem by
God has given us the reasons for creation and our existence in the Bible, "by resolving an intricate plot that sheds light on the entire story," Alexander writes. Using this theory to start from the denouement, or resolution, in Revelation's last verses and work backward, Alexander pieces together the Bible's overarching plot. The resulting picture reveals the reasons for creation and life that have eluded those who seek to answer life's biggest questions without first placing themselves in God's story. --from publisher description.
God's Big Picture by
Vaughan Roberts gives you the big picture--showing how the different parts of the Bible fit together under the theme of the kingdom of God. --from publisher description.
God's Kingdom Through God's Covenants by
"Kingdom through Covenant is a careful exposition of how the biblical covenants unfold and relate to one another--a widely debated topic, critical for understanding the narrative plot structure of the whole Bible. By incorporating the latest available research from the ancient Near East and examining implications of their work for Christology, ecclesiology, eschatology, and hermeneutics, scholars Peter J. Gentry and Stephen J. Wellum present a thoughtful and viable alternative to both covenant theology and dispensationalism. This second edition features updated and revised content, clarifying key material and integrating the latest findings into the discussion." -- Provided by publisher.
Him We Proclaim by
Challenging modern preachers to expound the Bible like Peter and Paul, this book makes the hermeneutical and historical case for a return to apostolic preaching, preaching that is Christ centered, redemptive-historical, missiologically communicated, and grounded in grace. But moving beyond theory, Him We Proclaim provides examples of how this method applies to all Old and New Testament genres, from history and law to psalm and prophecy to doctrine and exhortation. - Back cover.
How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth by
Presents a guide to understanding the meaning of scripture and getting the most out of readings of the Bible, focusing on exegesis and hermeneutics as well as translation concerns and the genres of biblical writing.
Knowing Jesus Through the Old Testament by
Traces the face of Christ in the textual tapestry of the Old Testament and also outlines the pattern of God's design for Israel as it is lived out in the story of Jesus.
The Mission of God by
Most Christians would agree that the Bible provides a basis for mission. But Christopher Wright boldly maintains that mission is bigger than that--there is in fact a missional basis for the Bible! The entire Bible is generated by and is all about God's mission. In order to understand the Bible, we need a missional hermeneutic of the Bible, an interpretive perspective that is in tune with this great missional theme. We need to see the "big picture" of God's mission and how the familiar bits and pieces fit into the grand narrative of Scripture. Beginning with the Old Testament and the groundwork it lays for understanding who God is, what he has called his people to be and do, and how the nations fit into God's mission, Wright gives us a new hermeneutical perspective on Scripture. This new perspective provides a solid and expansive basis for holistic mission. Wright emphasizes throughout a holistic mission as the proper shape of Christian mission. God's mission is to reclaim the world--and that includes the created order--and God's people have a designated role to play in that mission.
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology. At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture. Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology. - Publisher.
Scripture As Communication by
"This guide to the theory and practice of biblical hermeneutics emphasizes the communicative nature of Scripture, proposing a communication model as an effective approach to interpreting the Bible. Now revised and updated"-- Provided by publisher.
The Search for Order by
"Interpretation of the Bible demands a framework within which the details are set. We need to know the big picture before we look at the details. The Bible is a book about the future in light of the human failures of the past and present. In this sense the entire Bible is eschatological, since it focuses upon the ushering in of the kingdom of God, the fulfilling of the divine intention for humanity and society. In very broad terms the biblical sweep is from creation to the new creation...yet the end is not merely a return to the beginning, for the Bible reveals a great deal more about the divine intention than what is shown at the beginning of Genesis. Regarding eschatology, we must recognize how the Bible develops its theme of God's purpose from the beginning in Genesis to the end in Revelation" -- Introduction, p. 9.
The Story of Israel by
In-depth survey of the biblical storyline.
The Temple and the Church's Mission by
In this comprehensive study, a New Studies in Biblical Theology volume, G.K. Beale traces the theme of the tabernacle and temple across the storyline of Scripture, illuminating many texts and connections with related themes such as Eden, the cosmos, God's presence and Christ and his people.
Understanding Biblical Theology by
Understanding Biblical Theology clarifies the catch-all term 'biblical theology, ' a movement that tries to remove the often-held dichotomy between biblical studies for the Church and as an academic pursuit. This book examines the five major schools of thought regarding biblical theology and handles each in turn, defining and giving a brief developmental history for each one, and exploring each method through the lens of one contemporary scholar who champions it. Using a spectrum between history and theology, each of five 'types' of biblical theology are identified as either 'more theological' or 'more historical' in concern and practice: Biblical Theology as Historical Description (James Barr), Biblical Theology as History of Redemption (D.A. Carson), Biblical Theology as Worldview-Story (N.T. Wright), Biblical Theology as Canonical Approach (Brevard Childs), Biblical Theology as Theological Construction (Francis Watson). A conclusion suggests how any student of the Bible can learn from these approaches -- publisher's description.
What Is Biblical Theology? by
How do you read the Bible? The Bible recounts a single story -- one that began at creation, encompasses our lives today, and will continue till Christ's return and beyond. In What Is Biblical Theology?, Jim Hamilton introduces us to this narrative, helping us understand the worldview of the biblical writers so that we can read the Old and New Testaments as those authors intended. Tracing the key patterns, symbols, and themes that bind the Bible together, this book will help you understand Scripture's unified message and find your place in the great story of redemption. - Publisher.
According to Plan by
The massive diversity and complexity of the Bible can make it a daunting project for anyone to tackle. Getting a grasp on the unity of the Bible, its central message from Genesis to Revelation, helps immensely in understanding the meaning of any one book or passage. That is the goal of this book. How do the Old and New Testaments fit together? What is the point of biblical theology? What is the overall story of the Bible? What difference does it make? This introductory text answers these questions with an integrated theology of both Old and New Testaments that avoids unnecessary technicalities. Dozens of charts, highlighted summaries, study questions at the end of each chapter and concise, pithy chapters make this an enormously useful book for understanding how the Bible fits together as the unfolding story of God's plan for salvation.
Desiring the Kingdom by
"Philosopher James K. A. Smith reshapes the very project of Christian education in Desiring the Kingdom. This text is the first of three volumes that will ultimately provide a comprehensive theology of culture. The entire set will address crucial concerns in ontology, anthropology, epistemology, and political philosophy. Desiring the Kingdom focuses education around the themes of liturgy, formation, and desire. The author contends--as did Augustine--that human beings are "desiring agents"; in other words, we are what we love. Postmodern culture, far from being "secular," is saturated with liturgy, but in places such as malls, stadiums, and universities. While these structures influence us, they do not point us to the best of ends. Smith aims to move beyond a focus on "worldview" to see Christian education as a counter-formation to these secular liturgies. His ultimate purpose is to re-vision Christian education as a formative process that redirects our desire toward God's kingdom and its vision of flourishing. In the same way, Smith re-visions Christian worship as a pedagogical practice that trains our love. Desiring the Kingdom will reach a wide audience; professors and students in courses on theology, culture, philosophy, and worldview will welcome this contribution. Pastors, ministers, worship leaders, and other church leaders will appreciate this book as well." -- Provided by publisher.
The Drama of Scripture by
This bestselling textbook surveys the grand narrative of the Bible, demonstrating how the biblical story forms the foundation of a Christian worldview. The second edition has been thoroughly revised. Additional material is available online through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources, offering course help for professors and study aids for students. Resources include discussion questions, a Bible reading schedule, an adult Bible class schedule, and a course syllabus.
From Eden to the New Jerusalem by
God has given us the reasons for creation and our existence in the Bible, "by resolving an intricate plot that sheds light on the entire story," Alexander writes. Using this theory to start from the denouement, or resolution, in Revelation's last verses and work backward, Alexander pieces together the Bible's overarching plot. The resulting picture reveals the reasons for creation and life that have eluded those who seek to answer life's biggest questions without first placing themselves in God's story. --from publisher description.
God's Big Picture by
Vaughan Roberts gives you the big picture--showing how the different parts of the Bible fit together under the theme of the kingdom of God. --from publisher description.
Him We Proclaim by
Challenging modern preachers to expound the Bible like Peter and Paul, this book makes the hermeneutical and historical case for a return to apostolic preaching, preaching that is Christ centered, redemptive-historical, missiologically communicated, and grounded in grace. But moving beyond theory, Him We Proclaim provides examples of how this method applies to all Old and New Testament genres, from history and law to psalm and prophecy to doctrine and exhortation. - Back cover.
How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth [Fourth Edition] by
Presents a guide to understanding the meaning of scripture and getting the most out of readings of the Bible, focusing on exegesis and hermeneutics as well as translation concerns and the genres of biblical writing.
Kingdom Through Covenant (Second Edition) by
Gentry and Wellum present a thoughtful and viable alternative to both covenant theology and dispensationalism. Second edition features updated and revised content, clarifying key material and providing up-to-date research.
Knowing Jesus Through the Old Testament by
Has the Bible bound Christians to a narrow and mistaken notion of Jesus? To answer this question we need to know what story Jesus claimed for himself. In this revised and updated book Christopher Wright traces the life of Christ as it is illuminated by the Old Testament and describes God's design for Israel as it is fulfilled in the story of Jesus.
The Mission of God by
Most Christians would agree that the Bible provides a basis for mission. But Christopher Wright boldly maintains that mission is bigger than that--there is in fact a missional basis for the Bible! The entire Bible is generated by and is all about God's mission. In order to understand the Bible, we need a missional hermeneutic of the Bible, an interpretive perspective that is in tune with this great missional theme. We need to see the "big picture" of God's mission and how the familiar bits and pieces fit into the grand narrative of Scripture. Beginning with the Old Testament and the groundwork it lays for understanding who God is, what he has called his people to be and do, and how the nations fit into God's mission, Wright gives us a new hermeneutical perspective on Scripture. This new perspective provides a solid and expansive basis for holistic mission. Wright emphasizes throughout a holistic mission as the proper shape of Christian mission. God's mission is to reclaim the world--and that includes the created order--and God's people have a designated role to play in that mission.
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology. At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture. Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology. - Publisher.
The Temple and the Church's Mission by
In this comprehensive study, a New Studies in Biblical Theology volume, G.K. Beale traces the theme of the tabernacle and temple across the storyline of Scripture, illuminating many texts and connections with related themes such as Eden, the cosmos, God's presence and Christ and his people.
Understanding Biblical Theology by
Understanding Biblical Theology clarifies the catch-all term 'biblical theology, ' a movement that tries to remove the often-held dichotomy between biblical studies for the Church and as an academic pursuit. This book examines the five major schools of thought regarding biblical theology and handles each in turn, defining and giving a brief developmental history for each one, and exploring each method through the lens of one contemporary scholar who champions it. Using a spectrum between history and theology, each of five 'types' of biblical theology are identified as either 'more theological' or 'more historical' in concern and practice: Biblical Theology as Historical Description (James Barr), Biblical Theology as History of Redemption (D.A. Carson), Biblical Theology as Worldview-Story (N.T. Wright), Biblical Theology as Canonical Approach (Brevard Childs), Biblical Theology as Theological Construction (Francis Watson). A conclusion suggests how any student of the Bible can learn from these approaches -- publisher's description.
