Welcome! Below you will find resources available for the students, faculty, and staff at Trinity Law School. If you have any questions or would like to schedule a reference appointment, please contact a librarian at libref@tiu.edu or 847-317-4001.
| General Library Questions |
| (847) 317-4015 library@tiu.edu |
| Research & Reference Help |
| (847) 317-4001 libref@tiu.edu |
| Inter-Library Loan |
| (847) 317-4006 ill@tiu.edu |
The California Attorney General provides legal opinions upon request to designated state and local public officials and government agencies on issues arising in the course of their duties. Legal opinions of the Attorney General may be viewed on this website. In addition to searching opinions by year and by keywords or phrases, users may also search for opinions by specific citations.
The California Law Revision Commission (CLRC) is an independent California state agency responsible for recommending reforms of state law. Materials relating to Commission studies can be found in a searchable index of all code sections affected by Commission recommendations, a searchable index of all staff memoranda, and a catalog of all final recommendations and reports.
The Caselaw Access Project provides access to U.S. law, digitized from the Harvard Law Library collection. U.S. court decisions are freely available online, in a consistent format.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes many working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, links and resources, and maps and country data.
A collection of legal research guides developed by Cornell Law Library and other law libraries on various topics.
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
The world’s largest image-based legal research database, containing more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully searchable, image-based format; comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals; and provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print. SSO Required
ON CAMPUS ACCESS
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. The Lexis database contains current United States statutes and laws and a large volume of published case opinions dating from the 1770s to the present, as well as publicly available unpublished case opinions from 1980 on.
The Online Library of Law and Liberty’s focus is on the content, status, and development of law in the context of republican and limited government and the ways that liberty and law and law and liberty mutually reinforce the other. This site brings together serious debate, commentary, essays, book reviews, interviews, and educational material in a commitment to the first principles of law in a free society.
OnLAW: Continuing Education of the Bar (CEB) provides access to the largest source of web-based California legal commentary and analysis. It also provides links to the primary law for all citations of California cases and codes and U.S. Supreme Court cases. Users may browse attorney-drafted forms, with clauses accompanied by explanations and directions, which are easily downloadable to the user’s word processor. This research tool is available on the two main terminals in the Computer Lab via a Desktop link. Students can search the 11 different legal topics available. In addition to forms, every book published by CEB is also accessible on OnLAW. Printing from the database is available on a limited basis.
West Academic Study Aids provide students with unlimited, online access to hundreds of study aids to help you succeed in law school. Study aids from West Academic will help you prepare for assignments, classroom discussion, final exams, and more. Students have access to Hornbooks, Black Letter Law, Outlines, Nutshells, E-Flash Cards, and over 450+ other valuable study aids.
WestlawNext is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States. In addition, it provides proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources.
