The New Testament and Other Early Christian Writings: A Reader by Collects every Christian writing known to have been produced during the first hundred years of the church (30-130 C.E.), including the New Testament and other early non-canonical Gospels, Acts, Epistles, and Apocalypses, as well as additional important writings, such as those of the Apostolic Fathers. Each text is introduced with a discussion of its author, date of composition, and themes.
Call Number: BS2330.2 .E355 2004
Publication Date: 2003-07-31
The Rise of Christianity by The definitive text in early church history, Frend's The Rise of Christianityoffers a vast, panoramic sweep of Christianity's first six centuries, from the dust of Palestine to the court of Justinian and the parting of Eastern and Western Christianity. With many maps, chronologies, and graphics, Frend's text is an engaging story but also an immensely learned and careful work of scholarship. Elegantly written. It is a marvelous reference work. It will become the standard church history of our time for scholar and novice alike.
Call Number: BR162.2 .F733 1984
Publication Date: 1984-06-01
The Spirit of Early Christian Thought by In this eloquent introduction to early Christian thought, eminent religious historian Robert Louis Wilken examines the tradition that such figures as St. Augustine, Gregory of Nyssa, and others set in place. These early thinkers constructed a new intellectual and spiritual world, Wilken shows, and they can still be heard as living voices in the modern world.
Call Number: BR165 W65 2003
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Birth of the Church by This volume covers the period AD 30-312. During this time, the church experienced major challenges politically, culturally and intellectually, yet grew and defined itself in remarkable ways. Here is the story of Christianity's earliest shapers - men and women whose influence is still felt today
Call Number: BR165 .D368 2004
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
The Fathers of the Church by The Fathers of the Church: A Comprehensive Introduction presents the most important authors and works of the early history of Christian literature. Spanning the first seven hundred years of Christianity, Hubertus R. Drobner introduces writers such as Philo, Origen, Eusebius, Jerome, and Augustine, among many others. All of the authors are presented in their respective political, social, ecclesiastical, and cultural contexts, and are organized in terms of bibliographies, editions, English translations, ancillary sources, and relevant literature
Call Number: BR67 .D7613 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Readings in Medieval History by The purpose is "to introduce us and our students to documents representing a great variety of genres, subjects, and places throughout medieval Europe and to present those documents in their entirety or in substantial portions."
Call Number: D113 .R433x 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Medieval Foundations of the Western Intellectual Tradition, 400-1400 by Examining the course of Western intellectual history between 400-1400 this text is arranged in two parts. The first surveys the comparative modes of thought and varying success of Byzantine, Latin-Christian and Muslim cultures, and the second takes the reader from the 11th century revival of learning to the high Middle Ages and beyond, the period in which the vibrancy of Western intellectual culture enabled it to stamp its imprint well beyond the frontiers of Christendom.
Call Number: CB351 .C54 1997
Publication Date: 1997-12-22
The Medieval Theologians by The Medieval Theologians provides a clear and comprehensive introduction to the period through an examination of the key individual theologians of the time. Chronologically arranged, it allows students to explore this crucial period when so many important theological developments took place. Covers the important period from the 5th to the 16th centuries, when theology took shape as an increasingly formal subject of academic study. The only book to trace developments in the field by individual theologian, rather than thematically, as is the case in other texts. Provides a unique and distinctively theological perspective. Written by leading authorities from around the world.
Call Number: BR253 .M38 2001
Publication Date: 2001-02-16
A History of the Church in the Middle Ages by F. Donald Logan introduces the reader to the Christian church, from the conversion of the Celtic and Germanic peoples to the discovery of the New World. He reveals how the church unified the people of Western Europe as they worshipped with the same ceremonies and used Latin as the language of civilized communication. From remote, rural parish to magnificent urban cathedral, A History of the Church in the Middle Ages explores the role of the church as a central element in determining a thousand years of history.
Call Number: Main BR252 .L64 2013
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Medieval Christianity by This new narrative history of medieval Christianity, spanning from A.D. 500 to 1500, attempts to combine both what is unfamiliar and what is familiar to readers. Elements of novelty in the book include a steady focus on the role of women in Christianity; the relationships among Christians, Jews, and Muslims; the experience of ordinary parishioners; the adventure of asceticism, devotion and worship, and instruction through drama, architecture, and art. Madigan expertly integrates these areas of focus with more traditional themes, such as the evolution and decline of papal power, the nature and repression of heresy, sanctity and pilgrimage, the conciliar movement, and the break between the old Western church and its reformers.
Call Number: BR162.3 .M33 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
Theology of the Reformers by Theology of the Reformers articulates the theological self-understanding of five principal figures from the period of the Reformation: Martin Luther, Huldrych Zwingli, John Calvin, Menno Simons, and William Tyndale. George establishes the context for their work by describing the spiritual climate of their time. Then he profiles each reformer, providing a picture of their theology that does justice to the scope of their involvement in the reforming effort.
Call Number: BT27 .G46 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Women and the Reformation by Women and the Reformation gathers historical materials and personal accounts to provide a comprehensive and accessible look at the status and contributions of women as leaders in the 16th century Protestant world. Explores the new and expanded role as core participants in Christian life that women experienced during the Reformation Examines diverse individual stories from women of the times, ranging from biographical sketches of the ex-nun Katharina von Bora Luther and Queen Jeanne d'Albret, to the prophetess Ursula Jost and the learned Olimpia Fulvia Morata Brings together social history and theology to provide a groundbreaking volume on the theological effects that these women had on Christian life and spirituality Accompanied by a website at www.blackwellpublishing.com/stjerna offering student's access to the writings by the women featured in the book
Call Number: BR 307 S75 2009
Publication Date: 2008-07-21
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by The definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
Call Number: BR302.8 .O93 1996
Publication Date: 1996-02-29
The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology by The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology provides a comprehensive guide to the theology and theologians of the Reformation period. Each of the eighteen chapters is written by a leading authority in the field and provides an up-to-date account and analysis of the thought associated with a particular figure or movement. There are chapters focusing on lesser reformers such as Martin Bucer, and on the Catholic and Radical Reformations, as well as the major Protestant reformers
Call Number: BR305.3 .C36 2004
Publication Date: 2004-11-18
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries
The Puritans by Critically acclaimed classic lets Puritans speak for themselves in crucial documents covering history, theory of state and society, religion, customs, behavior, biographies and letters, poetry, literary theory, education, science, and more.
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
The Religious Origins of the French Revolution by Although the French Revolution is associated with efforts to dechristianize the French state and citizens, it actually had long-term religious, even Christian, origins, claims Dale Van Kley. Looking back at the two and a half centuries that preceded the revolution, Van Kley explores the diverse, often warring religious strands that influenced political events up to the revolution. Van Kley draws on a wealth of primary sources to show that French royal absolutism was first a product and then a casualty of religious conflict.
Call Number: DC158.2 .V36 1996
Publication Date: 1999-11-10
The Puritans by hedding critical new light on the diverse forms of Puritan belief and practice in England, Scotland, and New England, David Hall provides a multifaceted account of a cultural movement that judged the Protestant reforms of Elizabeth's reign to be unfinished. Hall's vivid and wide-ranging narrative describes the movement's deeply ambiguous triumph under Oliver Cromwell, its political demise with the Restoration of the English monarchy in 1660, and its perilous migration across the Atlantic to establish a "perfect reformation" in the New World.
Call Number: BX9323 .H35 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Rousseau, the Age of Enlightenment, and Their Legacies by These essays concern many of the great themes of the age, including liberty, equality and the origins of revolution. But they also address a number of less prominent debates, including those over cosmopolitanism, the nature and social role of music and the origins of the human sciences in the Enlightenment controversy over the relationship between humans and the great apes.
Publication Date: 2012-04-08
Faith in the Age of Reason by The Age of Reason or the Enlightenment was a period unlike any other. In many ways it was during this time that the modern world was forged. It was an age when world views clashed and new ways of seeing and understanding emerged. It was in religion above all, that this clash took place. Our modern views of religion like our modern understanding of science and the interaction between the two were developed as the Enlightenment gathered pace and hit opposition. This book examines what these powerful new ideas were and how they impacted on Christianity
Call Number: B802 .H555x 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-03
Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries
The Disruption of Evangelicalism by The Disruption of Evangelicalism is the first comprehensive account of the evangelical tradition across the English-speaking world from the end of the nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century. It offers fresh perspectives on conversionism and the life of faith, biblical and theological perspectives, social engagement, and mission. Tracing these trajectories through a period of great turbulence in world history, we see the deepening of an evangelical diversity.
Call Number: BR1644 .T74 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
ISG 47: Christianity Worldwide 1800 To 2000 by Christianity Worldwide 1800-2000 brings together voices from around the world to explore how Christianity grew and developed in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Writers and theologians from each region of the globe lay out the history of Christianity between 1800 and 2000 in their part of the world, showing how repeatedly it was local believers who drove the changes in those centuries, both in sharing faith and adapting it to their particular culture - a Chinese Bible translator, Liberian prophet or Korean Bible woman is as significant as a British missionary or Italian pope.
Publication Date: 2021-12-16
An Unpredictable Gospel by In An Unpredictable Gospel, Jay Case examines the efforts of American evangelical missionaries in light of this new scholarship. He argues that if they were agents of imperialism, they were poor ones. Western missionaries had a dismal record of converting non-Westerners to Christianity. The ministries that were most successful were those that empowered the local population and adapted to local cultures. In fact, influence often flowed the other way, with missionaries serving as conduits for ideas that shaped American evangelicalism.
Call Number: BV2410 .C37 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-02
Christianity in the Twentieth Century by Written by a leading scholar of world Christianity, the book traces how Christianity evolved from a religion defined by the culture and politics of Europe to the expanding polycentric and multicultural faith it is today--one whose growing popular support is strongest in sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, China, and other parts of Asia.
Publication Date: 2018-06-26