Skip to main content

Music

Searching for Books & Media

Rolfing Library Search

When looking for resources, first try searching our library:

https://library.tiu.edu/home

 

I-Share Search

If we do not have the item that you need, try searching other Illinois universities.  Requests take 3-5 days to arrive:

https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/all/vf/

Instructions on how to use I-Share can be found here:

https://library.tiu.edu/ill/ishare/requestitem

 

WorldShare Search

If neither our library nor I-Share has the item that you need, then try WorldShare to search libraries throughout the United States.  WorldShare requests average 2 weeks to arrive, so plan accordingly.  Instructions on how to use WorldShare can be found here:

https://library.tiu.edu/ill/worldshare

Home

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style/Turabian is the recommended citation style for the Music Department.

Music Databases

Music Journals

Music Websites

Professional Music Organizations

MUT 111 Bibliography Exercise

Citing Your Resources

Trinity International University's Music Department encourages its students to use the Chicago Manual of Style format to cite their papers.

Chicago Manual of Style Onlinehttps://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-tiu/Record/tiu_667016

To access the page of very detailed citations, click The Chicago Manual of Style Contents Part Three. Source Citations and Indexes14. Notes and BibliographyBibliographies


Books

Bibliography:

Brown, David. Tchaikovsky: The Man and His Music. New York: Pegasus Books, 2007.


Footnote:

1. David Brown, Tchaikovsky: The Man and His Music (New York: Pegasus Books, 2007), 45.


More Examples: 14.75: One Author

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec075.html


Music Scores

Bibliography

Gershwin, George. Selections from Porgy and Bess. Libretto by DuBose Heyward.

     Lyrics by DuBose Heyward and Ira Gershwin. Secaucus, NJ: Warner Brothers, 1992.


Footnote:

1. George Gershwin, Selections from Porgy and Bess, libretto by DuBose Heyward, lyrics by DuBose Heyward and Ira Gershwin (Secaucus, NJ: Warner Brothers, 1992).


More Examples: 14.255: Published scores

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec255.html


Physical Recordings (CDs, DVDs, LPs, videocassettes, etc.)

  • Bibliography:
  • Handel, George Frideric. Messiah,. King's Choir College, Cambridge. David Willcocks. With James Bowman, Robert Tear,
  •      Benjamin Luxon, et al. Recorded July 1971 and 1972. EMI 637852-7, 1992, 2 compact discs.

    Footnote:

1. George Frideric Handel, Messiah, King's Choir College, Cambridge, David Willcocks, with James Bowman, Robert Tear, Benjamin Luxon, et al., recorded July 1971 and 1972, EMI 637852-7, 1992, compact disc.


More Examples: 14.263: Musical recordings

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec263.html


Electronic Recordings of a Performance (iTunes, Naxos, Spotify, YouTube, Vimeo, etc.)

Bibliography: 

"Beethoven 9 - Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Riccardo Muti." Riccardo Muti.

     With the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus. YouTube, May 8, 2015. Video,

     1:21:22. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOjHhS5MtvA.


Footnote:

1. "Beethoven 9 - Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Riccardo Muti," Riccardo Mutti, with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, May 8, 2015, video, 1:21:22, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOjHhS5MtvA..


More Examples: 14.267: Videos, podcasts, and other online multimedia:

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec267.html


Entry from Grove Online (Oxford Music Online)

Grove Music Online is also called Oxford Music Online.  It can be accessed from here: https://library.tiu.edu/az.php?a=o&q=oxford%20music

Bibliography:

Grove Music Online. s.v. 'Paderewski, Ignacy Jan." Accessed September 14, 2018.

     https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.20672.


Footnote:

1. Grove Music Online, s.v. "Paderewski, Ignacy Jan," by Jim Samson, accessed September 14, 2018, https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.20672.


More Examples: 14.233: Reference works consulted online

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec267.html


Article from a Periodical or Journal

Articles can be found by selecting the "Articles" tab in our library's search box.

Bibliography:

Lizotte, Tom. "Improvisation in Beginning Jazz Combos." The Instrumentalist 71, no. 1 (2016): 36.


Footnote:

1. Tom Lizotte, "Improvisation in Beginning Jazz Combos," The Instrumentalist 71, no. 1 (2016): 36.


More Examples: 14.171: Journal volume, issue, and date

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec171.html


Website

Bibliography:

"Verdi." Classic FM. Accessed September 14, 2018. https://www.classicfm.com/composers/verdi/.


Footnote:

1. "Verdi," Classic FM, accessed September 14, 2018, https://www.classicfm.com/composers/verdi/.


More Examples: 14.207: Citing web pages and websites

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec207.html