The online BUS 103 class has a project studying a political or social issue currently in the news, and analyzing the short- and long-term economic impact of the issue. The following provides direction to magazines, newspapers and government resources.
Search multiple databases at one time. Check the "Full Text" box to limit to online articles.
Business Source Elite is the best place to search for business information
When off-campus, you can log into the databases using your TIU username and password, which you use for Trinity email, myTIU and Moodle. If you need help with that username and password, contact IT.
If an article is not available full-text online, you can request it through WorldShare. The Interlibrary Loan department will either scan in the article from our print collection, or request it from another library. An e-mail will be sent letting you know that copy is available, and a PDF version of the article will be available through your WorldShare account. See instructions for requesting through WorldShare.
APA is the citation style used by students and writers in business. When writing your paper, use in-text citations with the author's last name, publication year and page number: (Miller, 2012, p. 83). At the end of your paper, include a Reference list with full citations.
Calfee, R. C., & Valencia, R. R. (1991). APA guide to publication. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Harlow, H. F. (1983). Fundamentals for preparing psychology journal articles. Journal of Psychology, 55, 893-896.
Use the resources below to get more help with APA format and citing specific resources.
The Thrive Center (formerly the USSC) helps students with their academic and writing needs. You will need to schedule an appointment with a tutor. You can call the Thrive Center at (847) 317-8193 or email them at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Zotero is a free bibliographic management program that one can use with any of these three browsers: Firefox, Chrome, or Safari. It allows one to download references from Rolfing Search, I-Share, WorldCat, and most of our databases, including ATLA, Academic Search Premier, and PsycInfo. After downloading references, Zotero can be used with its corresponding Microsoft Word (or Open Office counterpart) plugin to create parenthetical references/footnotes and bibliographies in many different citation styles. See our page here for help with Zotero.
The library provides access to thousands of online resources for distance students:
The library will also provide access to printed books and journals
From off-campus, log-in to the databases using your TIU username and password. (This is what you use to log into your Trinity email, myTIU, and Moodle.)
If you are having trouble logging in, see the login help page.