Print Reference Books in the Library
Solomon, Norman. Historical Dictionary of Judaism. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2006. Ref BM50 .S65 2006
Werblowsky, R. J. Zwi, and Geoffrey Wigoder, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. Ref BM50 .O94 1997
Wigoder, Geoffrey, Fred Skolnik, and Shmuel Himelstein, eds. The New Encyclopedia of Judaism. New York: New York University Press, 2002. Ref BM50 .E63 2002
Online Reference Books
Jones, Lindsay, ed. Encyclopedia of Religion. 15 vols. 2nd ed. Gale Virtual Reference Ebook. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. Has many articles on Judaism. TIU students click here to access.
Skolnik, Fred, and Michael Berenbaum, eds. Encyclopaedia Judaica. 22 vols. 2nd ed. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. TIU students click here to access.
Talmud
Epstein, Isidore, trans. The Babylonian Talmud. 18 vols. London: Soncino Press, 1961. Ref BM499.5 .E57x 1961
Guggenheimer, Heinrich W., trans. The Jerusalem Talmud. New York: Walter de Gruyter, 2000. Ref BM498.5 .E5 2000
The Atla Religion Database indexes many journals specific to Judaism. Many other articles related to Judaism are also included.
These are some of the subject headings that will be most helpful in Atla:
"Judaism" for general articles
"Judaism history"
"Christianity and Judaism" or "Jews relations Christians" or "Evangelicalism relations Judaism" for relations between the religions
"Missions to Jews" for evangelism and outreach to Judaism
You can also restrict by geography:
"Jews United States" etc.
To search Atla, use the search box below.
These are some of the subject headings that will be most helpful in Rolfing Search and I-Share:
"Judaism"
"Judaism (Christian theology)"
"Judaism doctrines"
"Judaism history"
"Judaism United States" etc.
"Judaism relations Christianity"
"Christianity and other religions Judaism"
"Missions to Jews"
American Religion Data Archive
Available at http://www.thearda.com/
Includes data and statistics on Judaism in the U.S. and around the world.
