Print Reference Books in the Library
Esposito, John L., ed. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. 6 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009
Glassé, Cyril. The New Encyclopedia of Islam. 3rd ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2001. Ref BP40 .G42 2008
Roy, Olivier, Antoine Sfeir, and John King, eds. The Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism. English ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007. Ref BP40 .D5313 2007
Online Reference Books
Jones, Lindsay, ed. Encyclopedia of Religion. 15 vols. 2nd ed. Gale Virtual Reference Ebook. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. Has many articles on Islam. TIU students click here to access.
Koran (Qu'ran)
Various translations can be found in both the reference and main collections at BP109-BP110.
The Atla Religion Database indexes many journals specific to Islam, including The Muslim World with full text online access to articles back to 1951. Many other articles related to Islam are also included.
These are some of the subject headings that will be most helpful in Atla:
"Islam" for general articles
"Islam history"
"Christianity and Islam" or "Muslims relations Christians" for relations between the religions
"Missions to Muslims" for evangelism and outreach to Muslims
You can also restrict by geography:
"Islam Africa" etc.
"Muslims Africa" etc.
To search Atla, use the search box below.
These are some of the subject headings that will be most helpful in Rolfing Search and I-Share:
"Islam"
"Islam doctrines"
"Islam history"
"Islam Africa" etc.
"Islam relations Christianity"
"Christianity and other religions Islam"
"Missions to Muslims"
American Religion Data Archive
Available at http://www.thearda.com/
Includes data and statistics on Islam in the U.S. and around the world.
