Skip to main content

Library Policies

Policies and Information for the Rolfing Library at TIU

Placing Holds

If you the book you want is available in Rolfing Library, you can request it be held for you. Call slip requests have replaced holds. The book will be retreived from the shelf and held for you at the circulation desk for one week. There is a limit of 3 books that can be requested at a time.

Search in TrinCat and click "Request." Login  - the first time you login to TrinCat will need to sign up for a new account. Submit the request.

If the book is checked out, request it through I-ShareHow to request

Missing Books

If you cannot locate a book or periodical when TrinCat indicates that it is on the shelf, please fill out a search form at the Reference Desk. Library staff will search for the item and notify you when the item is located. While the search process is underway, you can check to see if the item is available from an I-Share library and request to have it sent to TIU for you to pick up.  

Reserves

Books on reserve can be picked up at the Library Circulation Desk.  Reserve items circulate for 2 hours and must stay in the library. You will need the call number which you can find in TrinCat under the "Course Reserves" tab. Or you can use the reserves notebook at the Circulation counter.

Articles are no longer placed on reserve through the library. Check on your class Moodle page.

Policies:

  • Due to heavy demand, only two reserves may be checked out at one time.
  • Reserve items have a loan period of two hours and are for in-library use only. A few reserves are one day, and these may leave the library.
  • Return all reserve materials directly to the circulation staff or place in the plastic tray on the Circulation Counter. 
  • Reserve books may be renewed once, provided that no one has placed a hold on the item.
  • Fines for reserves are calculated at 1¢ per minute.

Special Collections

Juvenile

Juvenile books have a 21-day loan period, and are able to be checked out by any patron of the Rolfing Library or I-Share libraries.

Education Curriculum

Items located in the Education Curriculum have a 21-day loan period. They are only available for check-out to TGS or CAS students. 

Non-Circulating Materials

Due to the value, high demand or special usage of some works, Rolfing Library has restricted particular materials to in-library use only. Materials from the noncirculating collections may not be checked out and must be used in the library subject to the following guidelines.

Reference and Journal Holdings

When you have finished using items from these collections, please place them in the Book Return slot in the front counter. Please use the books and journals in the library or photocopy articles for research use. Return all books and journals to the Book Return slot in the middle of the front counter. We keep usage statistics on all items and therefore ask that patrons do not shelve on your own. Books and journals are shelved at least twice a day, but if an item appears to be missing from the shelves, please ask for it at the Circulation Counter, and we will check the reshelve area for you.

Reserve items

Heavily used items are placed on reserve in order to give more students access to the material. Reserve items are kept behind the Circulation Counter. More information.

Archives and Rare Books

The Rare Book Collection, the Archives of the Evangelical Free Church and the Archives of TIU are located in the Archives room. Materials in these collections are usually available Monday-Friday between the hours of 9:00am and 4:00pm by special appointment only. For more information, please see our Archives and Special Collections guide, or contact Linda Fratt for further assistance at lfratt@tiu.edu or 847.317.4003.

Microforms

Microfilm and microfiche are located in the Clerestory area of the library. Reader/printer/scanners are available. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Counter.

Bindery

If you see the status "sent to the bindery" on journals in the library catalog, this means the journal is temporarily unavailable.  The date that an item is “sent to the bindery” is the date that they leave our campus for Houchen Bindery in Nebraska.  In most cases journals are back on the shelf a month from that date.  Please note that there is some preparation that must take place in the library before we send the journals to be bound.  A bindery shipping date that is still in the future is an indication that the volume in question is being processed for the next bindery shipment.  These volumes may be available on a limited basis.  Please inquire at the reference desk on their availability at libref@tiu.edu or (847)317-4001.

If the volume you want is currently being bound and you would like to be notified when it is returned to the library please e-mail the reference desk at libref@tiu.edu. In your e-mail please include an email address or phone number we can use to contact you.