Skip to main content

Psychology

Introduction

These are generally good places to begin your research.

They provide brief to extensive overviews of topics and sometimes helpful bibliographies.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Generally good places to begin your research. Provide brief to extensive overviews of topics and sometimes helpful bibliographies.

Online Reference Books

21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook (2008)
"Via 100 entries, 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of psychology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century" (preface).
 
Handbook of Psychology (2012)
"includes chapters covering virtually every core, as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments" (publisher's blurb).

 

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy (2005)
"This three-volume work provides a thorough examination of components comprising behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both adult and child populations in a variety of settings" (Introduction).

 

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology (2008)
"Through more than 275 contributions, experts provide overviews and explanations of the major topics in the field of educational psychology" (introduction).

 

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior (2004)
"This encyclopedia was designed with the overarching goal to collect together in a single resource the knowledge generated by this interdisciplinary field, highlighting the links between science and practice" (introduction).

 

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (2007)
"The encyclopedia is designed to be an introduction to the topics of I/O psychology for an audience including undergraduate students, beginning graduate students of I/O psychology and related disciplines, lay audiences seeking a nontechnical description of the field and its practices, practitioners wishing to stay abreast of the changes and updates in the field, and even the PhD-level academic seeking a portal into a new specialty area" (introduction).

 

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (2006)
"The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is meant to be an authoritative guide to the field of multicultural psychology. The title is intentional and supports the notion that culture, not race, is the best way to understand differences among individuals" (introduction).
 
Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology (2012)
Includes entries from leading scholars and practitioners of positive psychology.
 
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment (2003)
"The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 234 entries (of different lengths depending on their importance), organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields: theoretical, epistemological, methodological, technological, basic psychological constructs (personality and intelligence), and applied. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices and a list of references" (preface).

 

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law (2008)
"The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law addresses the interface of the two named disciplines and draws from the related discipline of criminal justice" (introduction).

 

Encyclopedia of School Psychology (2005)
"The Encyclopedia of School Psychology (ESP) is designed to provide the depth and breadth of content nonpsychologists need to understand little-known concepts related to psychology in the schools" (preface).

 

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (2007)
"The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed to make it easy for outsiders to gain access to and benefit from this rapidly growing and important field. It provides brief, clear, readable introductory explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content of the field" (introduction).

 

 

Print Reference Books

 

Ref RC 467 .A63 2013
APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology
11,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions.
 
Ref BF31 .B25 1999
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling
With over 1,400 entries, a premier resource for pastors, counselors, and Christian psychologists.
 
Ref BF636.6 .C68 2007
The Counselor’s Companion: What Every Beginning Counselor Needs to Know
An indispensible tool to enhance professional practice, knowledge, and skill presented in brief form, the main points of each section are concise, clear, visible, and easily accessible.
 
Ref RC456 .C66 2006
Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology
Three-volume work presenting the foundations of major theories of personality and everyday functioning and adult and child psychopathology.
 
Ref BF176 .C654 2004
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Four-volume work presenting the leading researchers and clinicians in psychological assessment.
 
Ref RJ499 .C76x 2006
Crisis in Youth Mental Health
Covers a diverse set of methodologies dealing with the science and practice underlying issues related to parenting, mental health, child care, and public policy.
 
Ref BV4011 .D43 2005
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
Comprehensive reference work with more than 1200 articles and 1346 pages, useful for clergy and clinician.
 
Ref BF31 .C65 2006
A Dictionary of Psychology
Contains more than 10,500 definitions of terms in psychology, entries cover etymology and history as well as language.
 
Ref RC455.2.C4 D54 2013​
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5
The standard reference for diagnosing clinical disorders.
 
Ref BF636.54 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Counseling
Reviews different types of counselors, their different professional identities, and their different models of graduate education and provides a comprehensive compilation of information about established and emerging topics in mental health and personal/emotional counseling.
 
Ref BF636.6 .R67 2008
Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination
Best-selling test preparation guide for the National Counselor Examination.
 
Ref BF31 .E44 2006
Elsevier’s Dictionary of Psychological Theories
Contains approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
 
Ref RC488.5 .Y37 2008 ​
Family therapies : a comprehensive Christian appraisal by Yarhouse
Surveys the major approaches to family therapy and treatment from a Christain perspective
 
Ref BF721 .H242 2006
Handbook of Child Psychology
Authoritative four-volume reference spaning the entire field of child development.
 
Ref BF637.C6 .H315 2008
Handbook of Counseling Psychology
Classic volume for both practicing counseling psychologists and students; resource contains the latest information on the prevention and treatment of vocational, educational, and personal adjustment problems.
 
Ref BF80.8 .L53x 2010
Licensure Requirements for Professional Counselors
State by state report of educational, experiential. and examination requirements for professional counselor licensing and credentialing.
 
Ref RC467.2 .P78 2005
Psychologists’ Desk Reference
Ready access to the entire range of current knowledge, include easy-to-read checklists and valuable Internet sites, as well as practical advice.
 
Ref RJ506 .P32 .P47 2007
Personality Disorders in Childhood and Adolescence
Explores the clinical reality of personality disorders in the especially vulnerable population of children and adolescents.
 
Ref Z5814.P8 B932
The Mental Measurements Yearbook
Offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided.
Also available as an online database: Mental Measurements Yearbook.
 
Ref BF 636.6 M37 2009
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference
Provides professionals with a quick desk reference guide based on the ten core content and knowledge areas described in both the CACREP and CORE accreditation standards.
 
Ref BF 636.54 A23 2009
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling
Includes more than 400 entries based on CACREP's eight core areas outlined in its 2009 Standards.