Skip to main content

Graphic Design

Museums are Great Resources!

NGA

National Gallery of Art, East Building, Washington, DC

Your Librarian

Find Resources!

Art Resources

This database is the largest online database of architecture and architects, numbering 24,000 entries. Each entry contains basic information about a particular person or building and includes links to other online resources, such as Encyclopedia Britannica and Wikipedia.
 
A handy reference tool for scholars, art dealers, and collectors, Artnet provides information about the fine arts market. The website includes an online gallery, a price database, and artist profiles that provide up-to-date information on contemporary artists and recent auctions.
 
The BHA, published by the Getty Research Institute, is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. The database contains bibliographic records from over 1200 international journals and available free of charge.
 
The Getty Research Institute maintains these authoritative reference tools for visual resources catalogers and indexers. The three Vocabularies, which together number almost two million records, include the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN), and the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN).
 
A chronological, geographical, and thematic presentation of art history. This comprehensive resource includes art historical essays, timelines, maps, and an image database.
 
JSTOR, an online archive of over 150 academic journals, is one of the primary online resources for peer-reviewed articles about art and architectural history. This subscription database is easy to navigate and includes articles dating from the nineteenth century to the early twenty-first century.
 
This essential website offers access to the encyclopedic knowledge contained in Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. It provides detailed information about all subjects of art history, in addition to critical bibliographic citations, digital images and image links, and advanced search features.