Skip to main content

Church History

Guide to Church History resources provided by the Rolfing Library

History Databases

These databases will be most helpful for Church History research. Journal articles, book reviews, and essays (book chapters) can be found searching these databases.

Academic Search 

America: History and Life

Article First

ATLA Religion Database

Historical Abstracts

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective (1907-1984)

OmniFile Full Text (continues Humanities and Social Science Index )1985-current

Searching Multiple Databases

To search historical databases simultaneously, use the search box below.

Other Helpful Databases

More databases for in-depth research. For a complete list of our databases, click here.

 

Finding a specific journal article

If you have a citation to a specific journal  search  TrinCat for the journal title. Be sure to search the journal title, not the article title. On the results page, check the location of the journal. If it says "Deerfield Periodical Collection" it is in print in the library.  The Periodical Collection is arranged alphabetically on either side of the stairs. If it says "Electronic Journal" it is available online. Check the dates to make sure the year you want is available. If it is not in TrinCat, you can request the article through WorldShare.  

Search TrinCat for a journal:


Articles versus Essays?

Q. What's the difference between articles and essays?

A. They are in essence the same. The difference is where they are published. Articles are published in journals while essays are individually authored chapters of edited books. In ATLA they are distinguished by looking at publication type, either article or essay. For an article the source will be a journal title whereas the source for an essay will be a book title. ATLA has many full text articles, but no full text essays. You will need to search TrinCat or I-Share to find a copy of the book in which the essay is published.